Demography of Uttarakhand

Administrative Divisions

The State has two Divisions and 13 Districts, further sub-divided into 49 Tehsils and 95 Blocks. There are 31 Nagar Palika Parishads, and 32 Municipalities. There are five Nagar Nigams in the State. There is a three-tier Panchayat system in place.

The three tiers are :-

:- Zilla Panchayat (District Panchayat)

:- Kshetra Panchayat (Block Panchayat)

:- Gram Panchayat (Village Panchayat)

There are a total of 13 Zilla Panchayats, 95 Kshetra Panchayats and 7,227 Gram Panchayats, elections to all of which have been held in 2008.


ENVIS Cell, Uttarakhand Environment Protection & Pollution Control Board,
29/20, Nemi Road, Dalanwala, Dehradun-248001 (Uttarakhand).